Donna Tart Wins Pulitzer Prize

Photo Credit: THZ Melanie Chima

Photo Credit: THZ Melanie Chima

The Washington Post and The Guardian – the two newspapers that revealed government secrets about spying by the National Security Agency – will share the Pulitzer Prize for public service, announced Monay.

The Pulitzer prize for fiction has been awarded to Donna Tartt for her best-selling novel The Goldfinch, which judges described as a book which “stimulates the mind and touches the heart”.

Tartt told USA Today that she was “very happy and very delighted” to win the award – her first major literary prize – and also “surprised”. The author also told USA Today that the reason it took her 11 years to finish The Goldfinch was because “it’s a long book”.

Relating the life of a 13-year-old boy who survives an accident that kills his mother, it is, said judges Art Winslow, Ron Charles and Sabina Murray, “a beautifully written coming-of-age novel with exquisitely drawn characters”.

The Boston Globe won in the breaking news category for its coverage of the Boston Marathon bombing a year ago and The Detroit Free Press‘s Stephen Henderson won in commentary for his columns about Detroit’s financial crisis.


The other arts awards:

Drama: Annie Baker for her play The Flick.

History: The Internal Enemy: Slavery and War in Virginia, 1772-1832 by Alan Taylor.

Biography: Margaret Fuller: A New American Life by Megan Marshall.

General non-fiction: Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation by Dan Fagin.

Poetry: 3 Sections by Vijay Seshadri.

Music: Become Ocean by John Luther Adams.


The other journalism awards are:

National reporting: David Philipps of The Gazette, Colorado Springs, Colo., for articles on the mistreatment of wounded combat veterans.

International reporting: Jason Szep and Andrew R.C. Marshall of Reuters for articles about Myanamar.

Criticism: Inga Saffron, architect critic of The Philadelphia Inquirer.

Editorial writing: The Editorial Staff of The Oregonian, Portland.

Editorial cartooning: Kevin Siers of The Charlotte Observer.

Breaking new photogrpahy: Tyler Hicks of The New York Times.

Feature photography: Josh Haner of The New York Times.


No award was given for feature writing.


Founded in 1917, the annual prizes, are named for publisher Joseph Pulitzer and are administered by Columbia University in New York City. In 20 of the categories, each winner receives $10,000. The winner for public service in journalism is awarded a gold medal.


This entry was posted in Entertainment News, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
You are not authorized to see this part
Please, insert a valid App IDotherwise your plugin won't work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *