Eight Teams Who Never Won The World Series

Photo Credit: Morguefile.com

Photo Credit: Morguefile.com

The road to the World Series can be tough. Some teams made it to the promise land and others fail to win the World Series. 22 out of the 30 teams in baseball has never won the World Series. Here are the eight teams that never won it all:

Tampa Bay Rays- The Rays have been in baseball since 1998. In its first decade of existence, they were terrible. It wasn’t until 2008 when they turn the franchise around. Since changing the team’s name from Devil Rays to Rays, Joe Maddon’s team has qualified for the playoffs four times in seven years. In 2008, they made it to their first World Series in franchise history. The Rays lost to the Philadelphia Phillies in five games.

Colorado Rockies- The Rockies have been in existence since 1993 and only made the playoffs three times in 22 seasons. The Florida Marlins, the other expansion team who started in 1993, already won two World Series. In 2007, the Rockies made their one and only World Series after sweeping their way in the playoffs. Their playoff magic stopped after the Red Sox swept them 4-0. They haven’t been in the playoffs since.

Seattle Mariners- The Mariners have been in baseball since 1977 and have been in the playoffs four times during that span. In 2001, the Mariners won a record 116 games during the regular season. Unfortunately, they lost to the Yankees in the American League Championship Series. They haven’t been to the playoffs since. Still looking for that elusive championship.

Washington Nationals- The Nationals have never been to the World Series. Since moving from Montreal in 2005, the Nationals have made the playoffs twice in three seasons. However, both times they was eliminated in the Division Series. They have been close. In 1994, the Montreal Expos had the best record in the league and was on their way towards a World Series title but the strike ended the season abruptly.

San Diego Padres- The Padres have been in existence since 1969 and have made the World Series in 1984 and 1998. The ’84 team lost to the Tigers in five games, while the ’98 club was swept out of the playoffs by the Yankees. Since then, the Padres missed the playoffs eight consecutive seasons under Bud Black.

Milwaukee Brewers- The Brewers started their baseball franchise in 1969 as the Seattle Pilots. After one year, they relocated to Milwaukee. In their existence, they made the playoffs four times. In 1982, they made the Fall Classic but was eliminated by the Cardinals in seven games. They wouldn’t make the playoffs again until 2008.

Houston Astros- The Astros came into existence in 1962 as the Colt .45 and made the World Series once in their 53 seasons. In 2005, they were swept by the White Sox in the Fall Classic. Will the move to the American League change their fortune around?

Texas Rangers- The oldest team not to win the World Series on this list, the Rangers started in 1961 as the Washington Senators. The club went 35 years without making the playoffs at all, but has now been to the postseason six times since 1996. That includes two consecutive American League pennants, as the Rangers made it to the World Series both in 2010 and 2011. The second of those trips is by far the most painful, since Texas came within a single strike of eliminating the Cardinals in six games but couldn’t close the deal.




This entry was posted in Entertainment, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.
You are not authorized to see this part
Please, insert a valid App IDotherwise your plugin won't work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *