Nobel Peace Prize Winners Announced

Photo Credit: Flickr

Photo Credit: Flickr

The winners of the Nobel Peace Prize has been announced.

Last night, the Nobel Peace Prize went to India’s Kailash Satyarthi and Pakistan’s Malala Yousafzai. Both were awarded the prize for their struggles against the suppression of children and for young people’s rights, including the right to education. Both of these winners have amazing stories.

Yousafzai was shot in the head by the Taliban a few years ago after promoting education for young girls in Pakistan. After recovering from surgery, she has dedicated her life to making sure that girls get their rights of education. She also became the youngest person to win the Nobel Prize at the age of 17.

As for Satyarthi, she has dedicated her life to focusing on the exploitation of children for money. She did it by peaceful demonstrations in India.

Both are expected to split the prize money which is worth $1.1 million ($8 million in Swedish kronor.)

This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.
You are not authorized to see this part
Please, insert a valid App IDotherwise your plugin won't work.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *